Author Topic: JEWISH MAN EXPLAINS WHY HE CANNOT SUPPORT THE DEMOCRATIC PARTY  (Read 591 times)

Offline Cyberella

• Master JTFer
My 85 year old Jewish mother sent me an email today asking me why I want to vote for John McCain this year. I'm 60 years old and have been voting only for Democrats for 40 years. When I cast my first vote in 1968, you had to be 21 to vote. Back then, I was a Vietnam vet and still in the US Army. Here's what I wrote back to her:

Mom,

I've supported the Democrats for 40 years because the Dem party was also the democratic party. This year, those two things have diverged. I hope I'll be able to support the Dem party in the future but with different leadership that respects our commitment to democracy. Leftists have taken control of the party, casting our liberal ideals aside, and they need to go. The only way we can get our party back is to make sure they lose in November.

Loyal Democrats like us who don't support Obama have been told by Donna Brazile to shut up and stay home on election day. No, we won't. She also said that the "new" party doesn't need us, it's long loyal base. If the "new" Democrats succeed under these circumstances, we won't even have a party to go to in the future. We've been put out and have no place to go right now except to McCain.