Author Topic: Video Study for Parsha Tazria-Metzora : Leprosy in the Jewish Community  (Read 2753 times)

Offline muman613

• Platinum JTF Member
  • All souls praise Hashem, Hallelukah!
    • muman613 Torah Wisdom
Shalom Chaverim,

It is Wednesday once again, and we are beginning the month of Iyaar (4th day today), and still counting the Omer... But it is also time to post a few videos to help us study the Torah. It is good to study Torah all week, whenever the opportunity arises (apart from set-aside time for study such as my Rambam study on the daily schedule with my community)... I have been posting this thread weekly for several years now and quite frankly I never get tired (even watching some of the same videos year after year).

I got to thinking just how 'timely' Griffins post is. This is why I posted the by-line of this weeks video study 'Leprosy in the Jewish community'. This weeks portion contains the laws of Tzaarath (otherwise mis-translated as leprosy) which was a skin disease which befell Jews who spoke Lashon Hara about others. This 'spiritual skin disease' was only able to be diagnosed by the Kohen who would send those afflicted into solitary life outside the camp. They would stay there until the lesions went away and the Kohen declared the person pure again.

Last week my boss was asking me about why certain foods are Kosher and others were not. I explained the law of animals as 'If it chews its cud and has split hooves it is Kosher'. I did not realize it at the time but last weeks Torah portion had those very laws in it. Coincidence? I think not.

From Chabad's 'Parsha in a Nutshell' @ http://www.chabad.org/parshah/article_cdo/aid/2879/jewish/Tazria-Metzora-in-a-Nutshell.htm

The Parshahs of Tazria and Metzora continue the discussion of the laws of tumah v’taharah, ritual impurity and purity.