Author Topic: Organized a self defense course at my local Chabad.  (Read 1157 times)

Offline Shofet

• New JTFer
Organized a self defense course at my local Chabad.
« on: March 28, 2016, 02:10:14 PM »
All things considered it was a success. Always hoping to attract more participants. I've said recently how frustrated I've been with things but as others have said all I can do is act for myself. My background isn't anything special. I served in the IDF as a paratrooper and believe it or not I also served in the US military. I have a background in wrestling. So I figured I could offer up whatever little I have.

About 20 people participated with maybe another 9 watching. Ages were all over the place. Although it doesn't seem like much it was very rewarding and uplifting to see Jews interested in learning to defend themselves.  My spirit has lifted.

We did some "victim deselection and avoidance" techniques.  Some "close quarter contact" training and a few other basic things. Much of this was stuff I learned in firearms and self defense courses I've taken in the last few years. Also did how to throw a proper punch etc. Nothing crazy or too intense I didn't want to get to far ahead of myself. Really simple but the first step. I'm going to be doing another one in a couple weeks.

I also encouraged everyone who is able to go get their concealed carry permit and arm themselves. I plan on getting certified through the NRA firearms instructor course this year.  Maybe then I can offer the class for free or something.

Anyways just thought I'd share the news.  I'll have to take some pictures next time.

Offline Lisa

• Forum Administrator
  • Silver Star JTF Member
    • The Urban Grind
Re: Organized a self defense course at my local Chabad.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2016, 08:55:20 PM »
Good for you!