Author Topic: Watch this video!  (Read 1037 times)

Offline Raulmarrio2000

• Master JTFer
Watch this video!
« on: November 30, 2008, 12:44:18 AM »
An ex-Muslim woman discussing with a Muslim. I found it a year ago. It's puzzles me that she speaks Arabic, and I understand very very little Hebrew, but I can understand some words. Is Arabic so similar to Hebrew? Anyway I have gussed the meaning of very unknown non-related languages by comparing with Hebrew roots.

Offline q_q_

• Ultimate JTFer
Re: Watch this video!
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 01:11:05 AM »
You'll save people alot of bother if you write in the subject "Arabic/Hebrew"

So people not fluent will know not to bother to click. (unless perhaps there are sufficient replies to read)

Offline muman613

• Platinum JTF Member
  • All souls praise Hashem, Hallelukah!
    • muman613 Torah Wisdom
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 01:15:15 AM »
I am not an expert but from my experience there are a lot of similar words in Hebrew and Arabic.

Some examples I know:

Eved = Abd = Servant
Shalom = Salam = Peace
Rachaman = Rachem = Mercy

I am sure I can think of some more... But thats enough for this example...

muman613

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aramaic

Aramaic is a Semitic language with a 3,000-year history. It has been the language of administration of empires and the language of divine worship. It is the original language of large sections of the biblical books of Daniel and Ezra, and is the main language of the Talmud and Zohar. Aramaic was the native language of Jesus (see Aramaic of Jesus).[3] Modern Aramaic is spoken today as a first language by numerous, scattered communities, most significantly by the Assyrians. The language is considered to be endangered.[4]

Aramaic's long history and diverse and widespread use has led to the development of many divergent varieties, or dialects, of the language. Thus, there is no one Aramaic language, but each time and place has had its own variety.