Author Topic: "Hebrew" Loan societies, what do you make of this?  (Read 2995 times)

Offline habiru

• Senior JTFer
"Hebrew" Loan societies, what do you make of this?
« on: December 21, 2006, 10:20:21 PM »
A while ago I wrote a letter to several so called "Hebrew Loan Societies" asking for a loan. In my letter I explained that I am young Jewish student in need of temporary assistance. It has been more than 2 weeks but I have yet to receive a response.

Several days ago I decided to try again but this time I took on a different approach.

The following is a copy of the e-mail exchange:

Sent 12/19/2006 3:57:55 PM

Hi,

My name is Judy Ibibio and I am a student at Rutgers University. I am a
daughter of hard-working Nigerian immigrants who struggle to make ends meet
in order to put me through University. Recently they have falled upon really
hard times and find it very difficult to continue paying for my tuition. If
you can find it in your heart to help me with a short-term loan , that would
be greatly appreciated.

With much love and appreciation,

Judy Ibibio

Here is a copy of the reply:

Thursday, December 21, 2006 3:48 PM (barely 2 days later!)

Hi Judy,

I am really sorry to hear about your situation and I hope that we can help you. Please call our office @ 212-687-01-- ext. 200 and ask for an application for a student loan.

All the best,

Moshe
« Last Edit: December 21, 2006, 11:13:36 PM by habiru »

Offline MassuhDGoodName

• Ultimate JTFer
Re: "Hebrew" Loan societies, what do you make of this?
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2006, 11:00:45 PM »
Re:  "...Hi Judy,

I am really sorry to hear about your situation and I hope that we can help you. Please call our office @ 212-687-0188 ext. 200 and ask for an application for a student loan.

All the best,

Moshe..."