Author Topic: Mazel Tov?  (Read 14760 times)

Offline TavorIMI

• Full JTFer
    • UK Right to Keep and Bear Arms.
Mazel Tov?
« on: December 31, 2007, 07:03:42 PM »
Hi,

I am just starting to learn Hebrew/Evrit? I know that "tov" is "well". For example Mashlem har? Tov toda.
Forgive my spelling  :-[  I have heard the expression "Mazel Tov" Can anyone tell me what it means please.

BTW if there is anyone in Kent UK who is also learning Hebrew let me know and we could swap notes  :)
Shalom to you all from the UK.

Offline Ambiorix

• Silver Star JTF Member
  • There is no "Istanbul"
    • Brussels Journal
Re: Mazel Tov?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2007, 10:20:45 PM »
Hi,

I am just starting to learn Hebrew/Evrit? I know that "tov" is "well". For example Mashlem har? Tov toda.
Forgive my spelling  :-[  I have heard the expression "Mazel Tov" Can anyone tell me what it means please.

BTW if there is anyone in Kent UK who is also learning Hebrew let me know and we could swap notes  :)

Mazel Tov is an literal translation of good luck. i read it is wrong to use it in real Hebrew.

"mazzel" and "tof" are Dutch words BTW.
i just wonder if there's any relation with Hebrew :laugh:
Turkey must get out of NATO. NATO must get out of Kosovo-Serbia. Croats must get out of Crajina. All muslims must get out of Christian and Jewish land. Turks must get out of Cyprus. Turks must get out of "Istanbul". "Palestinians" must get out of Israel. Israel must become independent from USA.

Offline TavorIMI

• Full JTFer
    • UK Right to Keep and Bear Arms.
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2008, 02:02:15 PM »
Thanks guys for you replies.

I was watching a travel program about sailing to Israel and the presenters met some IDF guys at a check point and in the conversation that followed the term "sababa" came up which was translated as "cool". So there's another new word I can add to my vocabulary.  ;)
Shalom to you all from the UK.

Offline JTFFan

• Ultimate JTFer