Author Topic: The Karaite Judaism  (Read 21241 times)

Offline Lubab

• Honorable Winged Member
  • Master JTFer
Re: The Karaite Cult
« Reply #50 on: August 30, 2007, 05:43:32 PM »
Without the Oral tradition you can't even read one word from the written Torah. Hebrew does not have any meaning without the vowels.

The vowels are not found in the written Torah, only in the Oral Tradition. So if you don't believe in the Oral Tradition the Torah is no better than a bunch of ink on parchment. You can make it mean whatever you want.

You don't even need to say it's Hebrew, because we only know what Hebrew is from the Oral Tradition. It doesn't tell you anywhere in the Oral Torah what an Aleph or a Beit looks like. These things are all handed down in the oral chain.

And I'm just getting started....
"It is not upon you to finish the work, nor are you free to desist from it." Rabbi Tarfon, Pirkei Avot.

Offline New Yorker

• Ultimate JTFer
« Reply #51 on: August 30, 2007, 06:24:07 PM »

This discussion has me curious where everyone is coming from, I was recently told that Judaism isn't a salad bar, well it sort of is, isn't it? From my observations there's all sorts of Jews.

So what variety of Jew are you? It'll better help us understand where we are coming from.

To be fair, I'll start.

I'm a Sepharadic Jew, born in the USA, but my parents and family are from Casablanca Morocco. (You'd think with that background I'd be able to get a decent tan right  ::) so such luck, blue eyed white guy, go figure)

So I'm pretty much secular, don't read or speak hebrew, and never had interest in practicing, (okay lost 3/4 of you now  ;) ) was told by my dad (who did practice and was religious) that we are "Conservative Sepharadic", dunno what that means exactly, and something was most probably was lost in translation as english was his second language and he learned english late in life, so what he meant by "Conservative" probably had a different meaning than your definition.