Author Topic: They Just Don't Get It, or black students take over Marriott Hotel in Virginia  (Read 1973 times)

Offline stevefromqueens

• Junior JTFer
A week ago, I was visting Washington, D.C. and stayed at my usual hotel - the Marriott Crystal City in Arlington, Va. This is a lovely 4 star hotel that I have been staying at for both business and pleasure for over 15 years. On the second night of my stay (Saturday), I was stunned to see the hotel literally overrun by hundreds of black kids - yelling, screaming in the halls, running in and out of each others rooms, slamming and banging on doors. I called the hotel desk and was told that they had booked over 600 students from a variety of black colleges for a big football game at Howard University that weekend. It was total pandemonium! These kids had absolutely no clue on how to behave in public - besides screaming out "Where you at?" every 5 minutes in the hall - and screaming like they were being stuck in the behind with a fork - I knew I was really in trouble when the idiots next door to me announced loudly (is there any other way they speak?) "Here it is - real, red fruit punch!" as if he was introducing a bottle of Christalle. The hotel could do nothing with these fools, and the "chaperones" were totally useless. Finally, after numerous calls to the front desk threatening to call the police - the cops did show up (the hotel must have called them in) and things calmed down. I never saw such a public display of poor manners, rudeness, and downright idiocy on such a large scale (with the exception of the US Congress), and it was plain as day that the hotel did not want to deal with it because the kids were black. Suffice it to say, that Marriott did not charge us for our stay, and I understand from other "normal" people who were trapped there that night that they were not charged either. I hope this incident taught Marriott a lesson and that they know better next time - but I doubt it!

Offline genteelgentile