Author Topic: Money Counts  (Read 347 times)

Offline Confederate Kahanist

• Gold Star JTF Member
Money Counts
« on: February 17, 2010, 11:03:06 PM »
http://acuf.org/issues/issue150/100216news.asp

In 1966 and 1967 I lived inside the walls of West Berlin, my apartment building scarred by the Russian guns of 1945, and now rattled by the guns of East German guards. Every time I walked to the grocery store, I passed a fascinating shoemaker's shop—his front window was piled with money. The bills looked very much like the marks in my pocket.

Finally, I asked about the unusual “window display.” He explained it was the now worthless currency from the early 1920s hyper-inflation that brought Hitler to power. Having had a New York State public school education, it was news to me.

That day I started learning history. It is also when I started thinking about the function of money in a civilization. Not "money the root of all evil," but money the tool.

Money, the tool enabling people to trade skills and assets peacefully with other like-minded people.

Money, the tool facilitating the critical calculations in a society as to the price and value of a thing—so scarce resources can be allocated to their most productive uses.

Money, the protected stored value of your time and effort.

Money, the source of your security, your rainy day ace in the hole, your independence and dignity in old-age.

Thinking about money this way evolved into new perspective on theft. I started to see that theft is really like a mini-murder. But instead of stealing a victim's future— “real” murder, it kills his past. It takes his stored-up effort and ingenuity, it negates all the pleasures foregone, the hours of work and training that produced what was stolen.