Author Topic: Eugenics, America and the policies of Nazi Germany  (Read 1783 times)

Offline Gruzinit

• Senior JTFer
Eugenics, America and the policies of Nazi Germany
« on: September 09, 2008, 02:24:11 AM »
Earlier this year I studied the history of the eugenics movement in 20th century America. The biggest misconception regarding Nazi Germany and the Holocaust was that eugenics was a vaccum, instead it was a popular concept that was adapted into our culture and institutions, with scientists, politicians and progressive thinkers alike endorsed as a smoke screen for the true racist beliefs. Indeed, initially memebers of the Nazi Party looked at America's eugenics policies with admiration and basis for their racial hygiene policies.

If you don't believe this. I suggest you read War Against the Weak by Edwin Black, who gives a rather detailed and lengthy history of eugenics. I'm posting this documentary as well, because it explains the history of eugenics far more eloquently than I ever could. If we wish to comprehend the future we embark, we must know the lessons of our past.

The American Republic will endure, until politicians realize they can bribe the people with their own money. – Alexis de Tocqueville

Communism is like prohibition, it's a good idea but it won't work. - Will Rogers

Offline George

• Senior JTFer
Re: Eugenics, America and the policies of Nazi Germany
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2008, 03:50:20 AM »
This is true. America practiced eugenics and the Nazis admired this. However Americas Eugenics was much more mild. Eugenics can be a good thing if it's practiced the right way. For example, there is evidence that propensity to commit crime is genetics. Criminals and their offsprings should be sterilized and intelligent and righteous people should always be encouraged to have more children.

Offline muman613

• Platinum JTF Member
  • All souls praise Hashem, Hallelukah!
    • muman613 Torah Wisdom
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2008, 04:03:19 AM »