Author Topic: Fundraising, thoughts about:  (Read 1718 times)

Offline Sean

• New JTFer
Fundraising, thoughts about:
« on: July 04, 2007, 12:08:06 AM »
new to JTF, but I've had some experience with fundraising, here's some thoughts:

Distribution of members seems to be a problem. Sure if we had 2,000 people in NYC or LA, that'd be enough to focus energy, do something fun.

Distribution of members?  Well, I've seen "Garage Sales/Rummage Sales" do well. A Veteran's org I belong to sets up with a rented 60' container, puts out the word and gets tons of donations. yesh, some we gotta trash, some are good, most are. Then we set up, sometimes on a members property (he's got some acreage with good highway frontage), or we've used local community centers, even Veteran's Halls.  Just big signs to advertise, and then sell the stuff. We've raised over $10,000 in a weekend, only takes about 6 to 12 people - more's better - but it works.
So, this won't work because we're all over, but I think eBay has a charity drive feature - maybe it could work - eveyone's got something to sell, a book or two, old bike, skateboard, computer, whatever? 
Even staging or holding stuff and then have a weekend telethon type auction, maybe Chaim on youtube? or some kind of "live" set up..... yesh!! maybe eBay's better?
But how many members would place something for auction?

Okay, I posted something re: the old type of JDL bumper stickers. They had the clenched fist within the Magen David, and words "NEVER AGAIN". not the cheap paper bumper stickers, something quality, a plastic or vinyl - maybe with light reflecting inks - I don't know what they'd cost to produce, but I'm thinking more about how many would sell?  arithmetic? could they sell for $5 (I'm talking something quality!!) whatever, the aritmetic is simple: if JTF could make let's say a $1 or $2 per, then it's only limited by how many could be sold.

I'd guess the usual gamut of clothing items - T's, Sweat's, Caps. have been talked about.