General Category > Ask Posters Show Threads

The Ask Lubab "Show"

<< < (36/41) > >>

Lubab:

--- Quote from: Shlomo on June 25, 2008, 07:23:53 PM ---Rabbi Lubab,

What made you decide to be a Rabbi? Was there a certain event that happened in your life or did you make the decision over a long period of time?

-Shlomo

--- End quote ---

Hi Shlomo! G-d bless you for everything  you've done for JTF and the Jewish people. We are all eternally grateful.

Funnily enough Tina Greco asked me a similar question much earlier on in this thread.

I'll repost the question and answer here:

Quote from: Skippy on February 14, 2008, 05:48:11 PM
Lubab why did you choose to be  a Rabbi?

Well I'm not a Rabbi by profession. I chose to do the studies to get Rabbinical ordination because the Lubavitcher Rebbe directed that every Jewish man should do this before they get married.

He gave a few reasons for this:

1. Because each Jewish man is the "Rabbi" in his home whether he likes it or not. You can't ask a Rabbi about everything, so at least the man should actually know what he's talking about.

2. It's also important to know WHEN you need to ask a Rabbi. If you don't know anything about halacha you don't know how to ask, when to ask, what to ask.

So basically because of the Rebbe's great concern that each Jewish home be run in accordance with Jewish law, he directed that everyone complete these studies.

I don't think I'm a big scholar at all. I'm the "de-facto" forum Rabbi because I happen to have this certificate, and nobody else seems to want the job.   ;)

Shlomo:
Thank you, Rabbi.

We are so honored to have you on the forum and you are very humble and wise.

How long does it take to become a Rabbi? What is required?

Lubab:

--- Quote from: Shlomo on June 26, 2008, 01:47:20 AM ---Thank you, Rabbi.

We are so honored to have you on the forum and you are very humble and wise.

How long does it take to become a Rabbi? What is required?

--- End quote ---